The National Technical Authority
for Information Assurance


GCHQ and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) have set up a scheme to recognise Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACEs-CSR). A first tranche of 8 UK universities conducting world class research in the field of cyber security were recognised in 2012 and a further 3 in 2013.
A third invitation to UK universities, who would like to be recognised as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACEs-CSR), has been issued by EPSRC on behalf of partners across the UK Government, including GCHQ.
This is the third and final call in the initial phase of this scheme. Successful universities will be recognised as an ACE-CSR for a period of two years and will be awarded an EPSRC grant in support of their activities over this period.
For further information, please go to:
The 11 universities recognised as ACEs-CSR so far are:
ACEs-CSR​ ​Website ​Presentations
University of Bristol​ ACE-CSR Conference
(PDF 108KB - 5 Nov 2012)
Imperial College London Engineering Secure Software Systems
(PDF 7.62MB - Nov 2012)​
Lancaster University ACE-CSR
(PDF 263KB - Nov 2012)​
University College London​ ACE-CSR
(PDF 204KB - Nov 2012)​
University of Oxford​ ACE-CSR
(PDF 690KB - Oct 2012)​
Queen’s University Belfast​
(PDF 1.56MB - Nov 2012)​
Royal Holloway,
University of London​​ Cyber Security Research
(PDF 335KB - Nov 2012)​
University of Southampton​​ CyberSecurity
(PDF 6.41MB - Nov 2012)​​
University of Birmingham​
University of Cambridge​
Newcastle University